"When things get tough, there are two things that make life worth living: Mozart, and quantum mechanics.
— V.F. Weisskopf
The Newark Educational Foundation

Founded in 2005, the Newark Educational Foundation (NEF) is a non-profit organization that promotes educational excellence in the Newark Unified School District. From the beginning, the NEF has focused on the students: from sprouts to graders to tweens to teens. We exist as a conduit for our community to invest in the children of Newark. The science and music programs and activities we support are carefully vetted to ensure the funds are deserved and then monitored to ensure our donations are well spent.

The donations we make not only provide students with the opportunity to experience and learn about Science or Music, but also with the opportunity to grow as individuals and as members of a team. We fully expect the activities we fund to help our children to become positive contributing members of our society.

Yes, this is a lot to ask of a student just learning to play the clarinet or a trip into the wilderness by intrepid 6th graders, but that is just the beginning. Help us fund the future of Newark, our children.

NEF meetings are usually held on the 4th Tuesday of every month or as based on planned activities. Meetings are typically held in the NUSD District Offce at 5:30pm and last up to 90 minutes. Meetings are open to the public. Please email the NEF at newarkeducationalfoundation(at)gmail.com to find out the date, time, and location of the next meeting.

Stay Informed
To subscribe to the NEF e-newsletter, simply click here to send us an email.
The Foundation Board
Our board is comprised of volunteers from the local community and is independent of the school district.
Officers and Directors:
  • Andrew Klein, President
  • Olga Borjon, Treasurer
  • Lynne Siebert, Secretary
  • Irma Castaneda, Director
  • Jan Crocker, Director
  • Laurie Marshall, Director
  • Ramonia Polillo, Director
Community and Industry Advisors
  • Oren Beske
  • Mark Butler
  • Eduardo Escobar
  • Sean Nand
  • Jackie White